Startseite    Economy    Merzig Fair Trade Town
Grundschule Besseringen Schultaschen Fairtrade

Merzig Fair Trade Town

Local, regional, organic - Fair trade in Merzig

Since 2016, Merzig has held the title of Fair Trade Town, showing its commitment to fair trade, fair wages, protection of children’s rights, environmental protection and conservation.

The issue of sustainability plays an important role.
Sustainability means not living at the long-term expense of future generations or people in other regions of the world, and incorporates a recognition that the environment, economics and society influence one another. Sustainability thus describes a method of keeping the world in equilibrium.

“Certification as a Fair Trade Town is a clear demonstration that sustainable fair trade is firmly established in Merzig”, says Mayor, Marcus Hoffeld. “Local players from politics, civil society and business work closely together towards the common goal. I’m proud that Merzig is part of the international network of fair trade towns. We will continue to do all we can to promote fair trade at a local level.”

Expanding Merzig’s motto to “Local, regional, organic – Fair trade in Merzig” creates a link between fair trade and local, regional and organic trade.

This demonstrates the intention to involve and support local retailers in Merzig, which has been done very successfully to date. This is shown by the numerous partners from the town who are involved in the business association, food and drink association and the Chamber of Commerce.

The involvement of local traders is also clear in various campaigns in the town. For example, procurement of the Merzig school book bag was awarded to a Merzig-based PR agency, which previously played a significant role in developing the fair trade logo, while another created T-shirts made of fairly traded organic cotton (see Fair trade cotton for more) and another was involved in the sustainability showcase campaign. Food and handicraft companies from the surrounding area have also been involved – as well as fairly traded coffee and sugar, goods from regional suppliers are also served up, including organic bread, vegetables, cheese and cooked meats.

Fairtrade Steuerungsgruppe

“The award will motivate and encourage us to continue our commitment to sustainability, the environment and climate protection”, says Pia Schäfer, the Fair Trade Project Manager at the Merzig municipal authority. “We are planning public procurement projects and greater involvement of our primary schools, daycare centres and local retailers. We also support the “Making Saarland a fair state” project and encourage neighbouring towns, local authorities and districts to join the fair trade campaign”, the project manager says.

Urkunde Merzig Fairtrade-Stadt

The Fair Trade campaign is intended to raise public awareness of sustainable trade. The first step is reviewing our own consumption behaviour. Under what conditions are products such as our clothing, shoes and food produced? Do I use all the food I buy or do I throw too much away? Do I need strawberries in winter? These are questions that inevitably come up when you start to look at the issue of sustainability and fair trade.

The town of Merzig is particularly proud that the municipal child daycare facility in Merzig-Mondorf was certified as the first Fair Trade daycare centre in the Merzig-Wadern district in May 2018. In the future, the centre will start educating even the very youngest residents about related issues. Other municipal facilities have set up their own schemes.

Merzig is currently one of 558 fair trade towns in Germany. The global network of fair trade towns is made up of more than 2,000 towns in a total of 36 countries, including the United Kingdom, Sweden, Brazil and Lebanon.

Further information about the campaign can be found at http://www.fairtrade-towns.de.

Fairtrade Schaufenster Nachhaltigkeit
Fairtrade Kita Mondorf
Grundschule Besseringen Schultaschen Fairtrade
Kontakt
Öffnungszeiten
facebook
Instagram

Startseite    Wirtschaft    Fairtrade Stadt Merzig
Grundschule Besseringen Schultaschen Fairtrade

Fairtrade Stadt Merzig

lokal, regional, bio - Merzig handelt fair

Die Kreisstadt Merzig trägt seit 2016 den Titel Fairtrade-Town und setzt sich unter anderem für den Fairen Handel, faire Löhne, Schutz von Kinderrechten sowie Umwelt- und Naturschutz ein.

Auch das Thema Nachhaltigkeit spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle.
Nachhaltigkeit bedeutet, auf lange Sicht nicht auf Kosten der zukünftigen Generationen und der Menschen in anderen Regionen der Welt zu leben und beinhaltet die Einsicht, dass Umwelt, Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft sich gegenseitig beeinflussen. Nachhaltigkeit beschreibt also den Weg, um die Welt im Gleichgewicht zu halten.

„Die Auszeichnung zur Fairtrade-Stadt ist ein schönes Zeugnis für die nachhaltige Verankerung des Fairen Handels in Merzig“, so Bürgermeister Marcus Hoffeld. „Lokale Akteure aus Politik, Zivilgesellschaft und Wirtschaft arbeiten hier eng für das gemeinsame Ziel zusammen. Ich bin stolz, dass Merzig dem internationalen Netzwerk der Fairtrade-Towns angehört. Wir setzen uns weiterhin mit viel Elan dafür ein, den Fairen Handel auf lokaler Ebene zu fördern.“

Durch die Ausweitung des Merziger Mottos „lokal, regional, bio – Merzig handelt fair“ wird der Bogen vom Fairen Handel zum lokalen, regionalen und bio-Handel gespannt.

Dies zeigt, dass man den lokalen Einzelhandel einbeziehen und stärken will, was in Merzig sehr erfolgreich gelingt. Hierfür sprechen die zahlreichen Kooperationspartner der Stadt, die sich in Kaufmannschaft, Gastronomie und VHG gefunden haben.

Deutlich wird der Einbezug des lokalen Handels auch bei den zahlreichen Aktionen der Kreisstadt. So wurde die Beschaffung der Merziger Schulbuchtasche an eine Merziger Werbeagentur vergeben, die zuvor an der Entwicklung des Fairtrade-Logos maßgeblich beteiligt war, eine andere erstellte T-Shirts aus fair gehandelter Bio-Baumwolle (siehe hierzu Fairtrade Baumwolle) und eine weitere wurde in die Aktion Schaufenster zur Nachhaltigkeit eingebunden. Aber auch die umliegenden Lebensmittel- und Handwerksbetriebe werden einbezogen: neben fair gehandeltem Kaffee und Zucker, kommen auch Waren von regionalen Anbietern auf den Tisch, wie z.B. Bio-Brot, Gemüse, Käse- und Wurstwaren.

Fairtrade Steuerungsgruppe

„Wir verstehen die Auszeichnung als Motivation und Aufforderung für weiterführendes Engagement für Nachhaltigkeit, Umwelt- und Klimaschutz“, sagt Pia Schäfer, Fairtrade-Projektbeauftragte der Kreisstadt Merzig. „Geplant sind Projekte zur öffentlichen Beschaffung und die stärkere Einbeziehung unserer Grundschulen und KiTas sowie des lokalen Handels. Zudem unterstützen wir das Projekt „Das Saarland auf dem Weg zum fairen Bundesland“ und werben bei benachbarten Städten, Gemeinden und Landkreisen dafür, sich der Fairtrade-Kampagne anzuschließen“, so die Projektbeauftragte.

Fairtrade_Zertifikate_Urkunde

Durch die Fairtrade-Kampagne soll eine Sensibilisierung der Bevölkerung für ein nachhaltiges Handeln erreicht werden. Eine Überprüfung des eigenen Konsumverhaltens ist hierbei der erste Schritt. Unter welchen Bedingungen wurden Erzeugnisse wie Kleidung, Schuhe und Lebensmittel hergestellt? Verwerte ich alle gekauften Lebensmittel oder werfe ich zu viel weg (siehe hierzu: Regionale Produkte von heimischen Erzeugern)? Brauche ich Erdbeeren im Winter? Dies sind Fragen, auf die man unweigerlich stößt, wenn man sich man sich mit dem Thema Nachhaltigkeit und Fairer Handel beschäftigt.

Besonders stolz ist die Kreisstadt Merzig über die Zertifizierung der städtischen Kindertagesstätte Merzig-Mondorf zur ersten Fairen KiTa im Landkreis Merzig-Wadern im Mai 2018. Zukünftig wird in dieser Einrichtung bereits bei den Kleinsten mit der Bildungsarbeit begonnen. Inzwischen haben sich weitere städtische Einrichtungen auf den Weg gemacht.

Die Kreisstadt Merzig ist eine von derzeit 558 Fairtrade-Towns in Deutschland. Das globale Netzwerk der Fairtrade-Towns umfasst über 2.000 Fairtrade-Towns in insgesamt 36 Ländern, darunter Großbritannien, Schweden, Brasilien und der Libanon.

Weitere Informationen zur Kampagne finden Sie unter http://www.fairtrade-towns.de.

Kontakt
Öffnungszeiten
facebook
Instagram