Startseite    Tourismus & Kultur    Sehenswürdigkeiten    Museum Schloss Fellenberg – Schloss Fellenberg Museum

Museum Schloss Fellenberg – Schloss Fellenberg Museum

Schloss Fellenberg, which was extended into its current impressive form in the 19th century by Wilhelm Tell von Fellenberg and is now owned by the Merzig-Wadern district authority, has housed a museum since 1980.


History of the museum

Born in Switzerland, Wilhelm Tell von Fellenberg came to the Saar region for love. In 1829, he married Rosalie Virginie, the daughter of François Boch-Buschmann. In 1858, he moved his residence from Mettlach to Merzig and, according to tradition, rebuilt an old, dilapidated mill to create an impressive manor house, Schloss Fellenberg. With its dressed sandstone annex, its oriel windows and its tower, Schloss Fellenberg is a vivid example of 19th century architecture in Merzig. The Fellenbergs’ marriage produced no children so the manor house passed into the ownership of the Boch family.

From 1912 to 1919, the district authority rented Schloss Fellenberg and, after extensive reconstruction, it became the residence of district administrator Dr. Haniel. His successor Rudolf Klein also lived in the house. In 1934, the Merzig district authority purchased Schloss Fellenberg and turned it into an old people’s home; it later housed hospital wards, including the maternity unit. Many citizens of Merzig were born here. Since 1980, Schloss Fellenberg has been a museum.


Reconstruction and reopening

Between 1997 and 2000, the manor house was extensively renovated and restored by the Merzig-Wadern district authority. The museum re-opened in September 2000 with a major exhibition about the Saarschleife region and has been open to the public ever since.

The ground floor has temporary exhibitions by significant and regional artists, as well as local history exhibits. Alongside the fascinating exhibitions, a comprehensive programme of concerts, readings and talks provide visitors with a varied cultural experience.

Next to the museum is a reference library. It holds more than 10,000 books about the Merzig-Wadern district and neighbouring areas. The extensive Merzig-Wadern district archive includes the photographic archive of the former SZ newspaper editor Theo Plettenberg, the Saarbrücker Zeitung newspaper archive and the Johan Georg Becker-Krapp archive.

The district local history archive and library can be visited every 14 days on Wednesdays in odd-numbered weeks of the year from 17:00 to 20:00.

The “Paul Schneider Sculpture Park” extends in front of the museum It includes pieces by numerous sculptors.


Marry in the castle or in the garden under the lime trees – Weddings at Schloss Fellenberg

Romantic weddings with a grand backdrop

With its extensive park, the Paul Schneider Sculpture Park, its delightful sun terrace and exceptional exhibition spaces, Schloss Fellenberg provides a magical atmosphere for civil weddings with up to 70 guests. On request, a pianist can provide the perfect music to accompany your wedding festivities. Join your guests at a champagne reception to toast the happiest day of your lives.



Tours are available on request (Tel. +49 0 6861/80 12 60.

Opening times

The current opening times can be found at


Museum Schloss Fellenberg – Schloss Fellenberg Museum
Torstraße 45
66663 Merzig

Anfahrt Museum Schloss Fellenberg – Schloss Fellenberg Museum

Location and directions

Google Maps

Mit dem Laden der Karte akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von Google.
Mehr erfahren

Karte laden